West Indies vs India LIVE 2023

 West Indies vs India LIVE 

Team India will begin a new cycle of the World Test Championships (WTC) with a two-match Test series against the West Indies at the Windsor Park in Roseau, Dominica on Wednesday. The Windies have never beaten India in a Test series for the last 21 years.

Skipper Rohit confirmed on the eve of the first Test that young gun Yashasvi Jaiswal will open the batting alongside him and Shubman Gill, who has hit a purple patch in last 5-6 months will move to the no.3 slot in the two-Test series.
Without injured spearhead Jasprit Bumrah and a rested Mohammed Shami, a depleted pace attack will be led by Mohammed Siraj, who has 19 Tests to his name in form of experience.

It’s finally time for Team India to begin their first International tour after IPL 2023, and also to kick-start their WTC 2023-25 cycle. The Indian team begin their campaign with the West Indies tour with 2 Tests, 3 ODIs, and 5 T20Is lined-up. But the first of the lot is the Test series which has two Tests in place starting July 12.

This will be the 13th time India will be touring West Indies for a Test series. While India have won 5 times, West Indies have won 7 times. However, the scenario changes slightly if we consider for the 21st Century. Since 2000, India have 4 Test series, while losing only 1. Similarly, India have won 7 Tests since 2000, while losing only 2. In comparison, India have won only 9 Tests overall, while losing 16.

Meanwhile, the West Indies are trying to recover from a heartbreaking set of losses in the ICC World Cup Qualifiers, as they miss out on the World Cup for the first time in the tournament's history. Kraigg Braithwaite will captain the team as the Windies seek to quickly put things right, and stop from sliding further. A good performance and big results will be important for a West Indian team trying to regain its footing.

Rohit Sharma’s men will use the tour of the West Indies as an important step towards finding the right combinations for the upcoming WTC cycle, in which India’s ambitions will continue to be reaching a third consecutive final, as well as lifting the trophy for the first time.


 India : Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, KS Bharat/Ishan Kishan (wk), R Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat/Navdeep Saini/Mukesh Kumar, Mohammed Siraj

 West Indies : Kraigg Brathwaite (c), Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Raymon Reifer, Jermaine Blackwood, Alick Athanaze, Jason Holder, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua de Silva (wk), Kemar Roach, Alzarri Joseph, Shannon Gabriel

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post